ISWA Awards

Publication Award

ISWA Publication Award

The ISWA Publication Award has been created with the intention of honoring the author(s) of a publication, article or book which is deemed to be exceptional in its contribution to the field of solid waste management.


You submit your nomination, no later than 15 May 2014, either by e-mail to Daniel Purchase,, or by hard copy to the General Secretariat in Vienna: (Auerspergstrasse 15, Top 41; 1080 Wien, Austria)


For information on the submission process, please see the Call for Papers and the Nomination Form.


Further information on the nomination and submission process is available in the Terms of Reference. 


This year, there were 10 nominations for the ISWA Publication Award 2013. Due to the

top-class level and wide variety of subject matter covered by the submissions, the judges had great difficulty in determining an overall winner. After much deliberation, the judging panel decided that


"An analytical framework and tool (‘InteRa’) for integrating the informal recycling sector in waste and resource management systems in developing countries”


by Costas Velis et al, published in WM&R, 30(9) Supplement, pages 43-66, Sept. 2012 — was the overall winner.


The Prize has been awarded at the ISWA World Congress 2013 in Vienna, Austria.


To view the commendations from the Panel, for the three top-ranked submissions for the ISWA Publication Award 2013, please click here.

ISWA Publication Award 2013
Presentation of the ISWA Publication Award 2013 at the Gala Dinner at the ISWA World Congress in Vienna, Austria