The Winners of the ISWA Publication Award 2018 Announced

This year’s edition of the ISWA Publication Award attracted 15 strong submissions tackling a variety of pressing topics on the global waste management agenda. After a careful consideration, the judging panel finally decided to distinguish three entries from the received nominations.

30 Jul 2018 -

The first prize, a cash prize in the amount of € 2,500 and publication of the winning entry in Waste Management World and Waste Management and Research magazines, was awarded to the book ‘Challenging Changes, Connecting Waste Hierarchy and Circular Economy' authored by Ad Lansink, the creator of the Ladder of Lansink waste hierarchy. 


A very comprehensive review of waste management as a whole through the eyes of the circular economy and waste hierarchy.  Excellent publication’, commented Derek Greedy, ISWA National Member Representative and Member of the Publication Award Panel.


Learn more about the publication here.

The second and third prizes were awarded to ‘Inclusion of Informal Collectors into the Evolving WMS in Serbia - A Roadmap for Integration’ by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH and ‘Making Waste Work: A Toolkit’ by Zoë Lenkiewicz and Mike Webster from WasteAid UK respectively.

The prizes will be officially awarded at the Awards Gala during the ISWA World Congress 2018. Mr Ad Lansink will also be present at the ISWA booth for a meet and greet event. More information to come.

ISWA would like to congratulate all the winners and thank those, who submitted their excellent nominations.

About ISWA Publication Award

The ISWA Publication Award has been created with the intention of honoring the author(s) of a publication, article or book which is deemed to be exceptional in its contribution to the field of solid waste management. Each year, ISWA's panel of expert judges recognise the publication which they feel offers the most valuable contribution to the promotion of sustainable waste management.

back to list